OUR FAMILY

Our passion for winemaking embraces our passion for the past, the history of our winery and vineyards, and the desire to continue our rich heritage into the future. Our goal is to produce naturally the finest wines from the age-old slopes of Trarbach.


Led by a new generation of Böckings since 2012, our team represents the contemporary and the traditional.

 

 

Sigrid Zirkle Carroll

 

In the excellent wine vintage 1971 in Frankfurt / M. Born, she is the daughter of Dagmar Böckings von Maltzahn and is a direct descendant of Richard Böckings. The memories of slipping down the steep slopes of the winery must have taken her across the pond at the tender age of three. Because she kept coming back.

 

When not only financial help but also energy was needed years later, Sigrid did not hesitate to bring her many years of know-how in sales and marketing into the family heritage in addition to the necessary investments.

 

 

 

Denman Zirkle

 

Denman Circle's first memory of the Böcking winery goes back to 1971 and is closely linked to the birth of his daughter Sigrid. Sigrid's mother, Dagmar Böcking von Maltzahn, whom Denman Zirkle married in 1970 in Frankfurt am Main, had grown up in Traben-Trarbach. Denman's mother-in-law ran the winery for a decade after she returned from the Maltzahn'schen estate to her family home of Traben-Trarbach after the end of the Second World War.

 

Although the American, who was born in 1938, soon moved back to the United States, he was unable to escape the magic of the Middle Moselle after the short but all the better times at the winery. That's how Lewekes' call for help from Marshal 2011 came to the right man. For the successful finance and marketing professional was far from having the time to sit back and do nothing at the end of his professional career. On the contrary. With full conviction and, of course, from his own professional experience, he decided to commit himself to the family estate with full strength.

 

In April 2014, he left his position as executive director of a foundation in Virginia to spend more time in Traben-Trarbach. Now he is giving in his strength and knowledge to bring the estate up to modern standards.

 

© 2015     Weingut Richard Böcking GmbH & Co KG, Schottstraße 12-14, D - 56841 Traben-Trarbach, Mittelmosel, +49 (0) 6541 9385

  • Facebook App Icon

UNSERE KÖPFE UND IHR ANTRIEB

Mit uns Modernisten brennt nicht nur wieder das Licht auf dem Weingut Böcking, sondern vor allem die wiedererwachte Leidenschaft für einen einzigartigen, kulturbeseelten Naturwein der Mittelmosel aus besten Trarbacher Spitzenlagen.


Es ist unsere Berufung, unser traditionelles Erbe in eine vielversprechende Renaissance zu führen. Mit geduldiger Weitsicht und mit liebevollen, festen Händen.

 

 

Sigrid Zirkle Carroll

 

Im hervorragenden Weinjahrgang 1971 in Frankfurt/M. geboren, ist sie als Tochter Dagmar Böckings von Maltzahn eine direkte Nachfahrin Richard Böckings. Die Erinnerungen, in denen sie die Steillagen des Weinguts herunterrutschte, muss sie im zarten Alter von drei Jahren mit über den großen Teich genommen haben. Denn sie kehrte immer wieder zurück. 

 

Als Jahre später nicht nur finanzielle Hilfe, sondern auch Tatkraft gefragt war, zögerte auch Sigrid nicht lange, neben der nötigen Investitionen vor allem auch ihr jahrelanges Know how in Vertrieb und Marketing ins Familienerbe einzubringen.

 

 

Denman Zirkle

 

Denman Zirkles erste Erinnerung an das Weingut Böcking reicht ins Jahr 1971 zurück und ist damit eng mit der Geburt seiner Tochter Sigrid verbunden. Sigrids Mutter, Dagmar Böcking von Maltzahn, die Denman Zirkle 1970 in Frankfurt am Main heiratete, war einst in Traben-Trarbach aufgewachsen. Denmans Schwiegermutter leitete eine ganze Dekade lang das Weingut, nachdem sie als Vertriebene nach Ende des zweiten Weltkrieges vom Maltzahn‘schen Gut zurück in die familiäre Heimat Traben-Trarbach kam. 

 

Obwohl es den 1938 geborenen Amerikaner bald wieder in die Vereinigten Staaten zog, konnte er sich nach den zwar kurzen, aber umso schöneren Zeiten auf dem Weingut der Magie der Mittelmosel nicht mehr entziehen. So kam der Hilferuf Lewekes von Marschall 2011 an den richtigen Mann. Denn für den erfolgreichen Finanz- und Marketingprofi war noch lange nicht die Zeit gekommen, sich am Ende seiner beruflichen Karriere tatenlos zurückzulehnen. Im Gegenteil. Aus ganzer Überzeugung und natürlich auch aus eigener professioneller Erfahrung beschloss er, sich für das Familiengut mit voller Kraft zu engagieren. 

 

Im April 2014 hat er seinen Posten als executive director einer Stiftung in Virginia aufgeben um mehr Zeit in Traben-Trarbach zu verbringen. Nun gibt er seine Kraft und sein Wissen ein, um das Gut auf einen modernen Stand zu bringen.

 

© 2015     Weingut Richard Böcking GmbH & Co KG, Schottstraße 12-14, D - 56841 Traben-Trarbach, Mittelmosel, +49 (0) 6541 9385

  • Facebook App Icon